Latest NHL realignment plan

The latest NHL realignment proposal  reportedly has the league going from six divisions to four, and putting in a form of divisional playoffs instead of the current conference playoffs.

Under the plan, the Stars would be in the Midwest Division with Chicago, Colorado, Minnesota, Nashville, St. Louis and Winnipeg.

Detroit and Columbus both would move to the Eastern Conference.

The schedule matrix calls for each team to play teams in the other conference both home and away.

There would be some kind of wild card element to the playoff system.

The plan still needs to be approved the NHLPA and the league’s Board of Governors.

You can read more here on

Western Conference Eastern Conference
Pacific Midwest Central Atlantic
Anaheim Ducks Chicago Blackhawks Boston Bruins Carolina Hurricanes
Calgary Flames Colorado Avalanche Buffalo Sabres Columbus Blue Jackets
Edmonton Oilers Dallas Stars Detroit Red Wings New Jersey Devils
Los Angeles Kings Minnesota Wild Florida Panthers New York Islanders
Phoenix Coyotes Nashville Predators Montreal Canadiens New York Rangers
San Jose Sharks St. Louis Blues Ottawa Senators Philadelphia Flyers
Vancouver Canucks Winnipeg Jets Tampa Bay Lightning Pittsburgh Penguins
Toronto Maple Leafs Washington Capitals

2 Responses to “Latest NHL realignment plan”

  1. Reblogged this on Hockey Talk and commented:
    All in favor of this re-alignment plan. Dallas in a more central division will be so nice. Nicer travel for the team and fewer west coast road swings.

  2. I like that realignment, for less travel for the team and keeping game times from occurring too late when they’re on the road (Pacific Division.). Hopefully next season, they go to this alignment and the Stars get more traditional unis.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,650 other followers